Going Halfway

This idea of portion control has been a little tough to get used to. I’m so used to the enormo-lossal servings that have been appearing in front of me for all these years. These quantities are echoed in every restaurant I visit…right along with the concept that gargantuan meals deserves an appetizer and dessert as well.

This weekend I entered a restaurant hungry…very hungry. I skipped the appetizer and ordered my entree. When it arrived, I took a deep breath and told myself, “Eat one portion and then wait and see how you feel.”

Quarterway through the meal, I took a break to enjoy the flavors. It was DELICIOUS…and I appreciated the taste more than ever. I also noticed my hunger pangs were gone, and I was on my way to feeling full. Halfway through my dinner, I decided I didn’t need any more and had the rest boxed up. Wow, that wasn’t so bad…and I didn’t feel bad having a 100 calorie snack later in the evening when I was feeling a bit peckish.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

